Hair replacement for women the three hair growth phases

As has been discussed in prior articles, hair replacement procedures are just as much of a benefit to women as they are to men, if not more so.  In order to understand why these different replacement procedures are beneficial, you need to understand the different phases of the hair growth cycle.  In many instances, the progression of these cycles will determine when the hair replacement surgical procedure needs to be done and when the client will receive the optimum benefit.

There are 3 phases of hair growth which are as follows:

Anagen or growth phase – this is oftentimes referred to as the active phase of growth.  This is when the hair cell roots are dividing and multiplying rapidly which adds to the shaft.  The hair typically grows about a centimeter for every 28 days.  This phase normally lasts between 2 and 7 years and the length of time is determined genetically.  Once this phase concludes, a signal is triggered and the growth cycle then shifts into the next growth phase.

Categen or transition phase – this occurs once the Anagen phase has ended.  It is also what indicates that the hair growth phase has ended.  This phase will last between 2 and 4 weeks while new follicles are being formed.

Telogen or resting phase – this is the final stage of the hair growth cycle.  This is often characterized by dead hair that is completely keratinized.  Usually, there are anywhere from 50 to 100 hairs that are shed daily during this phase.

Hair growth phase time periods

The time that hair growth phases last will vary from one individual to the next.  The percentage breakdown of the hairs that are in each phase are listed as well.  Follicle shape and color will typically affect how long these phases last:

Anagen phase – normally 2 to 3 years but can last up to 7 years with some individuals (up to 90% of the hairs are usually in this phase)

Catagen phase – 2 to 4 weeks in duration (1% to 2%)

Telogen phase – on average, this phases will last around 9 months (10% to 14%)

Each one of these phases has histological and morphological distinguishing features which the experienced hair replacement surgeon will be well aware of.  There is a follicle formation that occurs prior to the start of the 3 phases which is commonly and technically referred to as follicular morphogenesis.  Additionally and independent of the Anagen and Telogen phases is the shedding phase which is known as Exogen.

Image credit

Previous post:

Next post:

Copyright © 2012. All Rights Reserved.


Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy